Green Is Advancing, Are You?

Are you keeping up with Green Building Standards?

A simple green home design by Bercy Chen Studio

As building methods  improve, some builders will be left behind by outdated methods.  Keep your business growing by using the national standards.

At a June 13-17 meeting at the National Housing Center in Washington, D.C., a consensus committee working on updating the National Green Building Standard (NGBS) will evaluate 465 changes to the original 2008 version of the standard proposed by the public.

Initiated in 2007 by the International Code Council and NAHB, the National Green Building Standard was developed by a 42-member consensus committee and approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) in January 2009, making it the first point-based rating system for green residential construction, remodeling and land development to be approved by ANSI.

More than 2,200 projects have been certified to the standard since its approval by ANSI.Green Built Texas logo

“I think we are seeing in this process that the scope of green building for residential construction and remodeling will be expanded,” said Ray Tonjes, a builder from Austin, Texas, who is serving as vice chairman of the consensus committee.

“We’re looking at refining the point structure in the green scoring system, and refining the practices for renovations and additions,” he said.

Once the committee has completed its work, the newly updatedNAHB National Green Building Program logo National Green Building Standard will be submitted to ANSI for approval in 2012.

As an ANSI-approved standard, the document is subject to periodic updates based on consideration of advances in building codes and technology and other developments.

Becoming a Construction Conductor save you time by automating documents and organizing them into an easy-to-use dashboard.  Conductors have more time to learn about new developments that affect their business.  Don’t be left behind because you don’t have time to learn the new standards.

Learn more about the National Green Building Standard for single- and multifamily homes, residential remodeling projects, and site development projects.

For residential buildings, four threshold levels – Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Emerald – allow builders to quantify and qualify green building at all levels. At the Emerald level, the highest rating for a residential green building, a building must incorporate energy savings of 60% or more.  A free Green Scoring Tool compatible with the standard is available on the certification side of this website.

(Partially excerpted from:

© 2011 – 2012, RCartright. All rights reserved.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post a comment.